Terms of Reference and Membership 2023/24

Meets twice a year in March/April and October

Terms of Reference
To advise the Director and the Advisory Council on all matters relating to the requirements of, and policy to be followed in the Institute’s Library, both in view of the needs of the Institute as a centre for legal research and study and in relation to the resources of other libraries.


One representative of each University of London law school

Dr Bernard Keenan (Birkbeck College) 
Charlie Worthington (King’s College London)
Dr Niamh Connolly, (University College London)
Ian Moore (School of Oriental and African Studies) 
Professor David Kershaw (London School of Economics and Political Science)
Dr Shalini Perera (Queen Mary University of London)
Lauren Cummings (Goldsmiths, University of London)
Dr Aislinn O'Connell (Royal Holloway, University of London)

Three co-opted members representing non-University of London law schools

Professor Fiona Cownie (Keele University) (Chair)
Professor Rosemary Auchmuty (Reading University)
Dr Peter Dunne (University of Bristol)

Two co-opted representatives of professional users

Stephen Hockman KC (6 Pump Court)
Dunston Speight  (Lincoln’s Inn Library)

One co-opted representative of the British Library

Ben Hadley,  Social Sciences Subject Librarian

One representative of student users

Shrutika Gandhi, IALS Research Student

The Director of the Institute (ex officio)

Professor Carl Stychin

Librarian of the Institute (ex officio)

Marilyn Clarke