IALS Advisory Council

Terms of Reference and Membership 2019-20

Meets twice a year in May and November.   

The Advisory Council will act as a sounding board for the Director by:

  • Advising the Director on the institute’s aims and objectives both nationally and internationally;
  • Considering and advising the Director on strategic and operational plans for future development;
  • Advising the Director on developments within the subject area and implications and opportunities that may arise for collaboration, research promotion and facilitation, how to improve impact, research and teaching and interdisciplinary working;
  • Considering reports from the institute, and advise on any aspects of the institute’s work;
  • Advising the Dean, through the Chair on the appointment of the Director of the institute;
  • Assisting the School with institute and other reviews as appropriate;


The Rt Hon. Lord Carnwath

At least 8 members drawn from universities and similar organisations UK-wide including up to six from University of London Colleges
Professor Stephen Bailey (University of Nottingham)
Professor Gillian Douglas (King's College London)
Professor Norma Dawson (Queens University Belfast)
Professor Piet Eeckhout (University College London)
Professor Niamh Moloney (London School of Economics and Political Science)
Professor Penny Green (Queen Mary University of London)
Professor Alan Paterson (University of Strathclyde)
Professor David Sugarman (Lancaster University)
Professor Carol Tan (School of Oriental and African Studies)
Professor Michael Thomson (University of Leeds)
Professor Stewart Motha (Birkbeck College) 
Professor Thomas Watkin (Bangor University)

A maximum of six members drawn from partners / financial stakeholders not covered by the above but associated with the discipline
Professor Michael Lobban, Chair, Law Section, British Academy 
Jonathan Jones, Treasury Solicitor
The Rt Hon. Sir Nicholas Green, Chair, Law Commission 
Sir Iain Macleod, Legal Adviser, Foreign & Commonwealth Office

At least one but up to two individuals representing academic libraries. Where there are two, at least one should be external to the University of London
Mr David Wills (Squire Law Librarian, Cambridge University)

At least one but up to two representatives of the national postgraduate research community
Benedict Turner (IALS research student)

An elected member of the academic staff of the Institute
Dr Nóra Ní Loideáin

Ex Officio Members

Dean or Deputy Dean, School of Advanced Study
Professor Rick Rylance

Director of the Warburg Institute, School of Advanced Study
Professor Bill Sherman

Director of Institute
Professor Carl Stychin

Institute Manager (Secretary to the Council)
Alex Bussey

Page last updated: 4th November 2019