The Future of the Commercial Contract in Scholarship and Law Reform

The Future of the Commercial Contract in Scholarship and Law Reform
12 Oct 2018, 10:00 to 12 Oct 2018, 17:00
Conference / Symposium
Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, 17 Russell Square, London WC1B 5DR

The Future of the Commercial Contract in Scholarship and Law Reform:
Third Annual Conference

Organised by the IALS Centre for Corporate and Commercial Law, University of Westminster and University of Exeter

Academic Convenors: Dr Maren Heidemann, Catherine Pédamon and Dr Joseph Lee

This conference presents research undertaken during 2016-2018 at CCL, IALS. It focusses on the interface between public and private law, the new frontiers of commercial law and will have a special section on the notion of hardship in international commercial contracts (including public/private contractual relationships) and related rules and remedies. Speakers include members of the research group and guests.

List of Speakers and Chairs 

Mads Andenas, Professor of Law, Institute of private law, Faculty of Law, University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway and Senior Research Fellow, Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, School of Advanced Study, University of London
Jason Chuah, Professor of Commercial and Maritime Law and Head of Department of The City Law School, City, University of London
Hendrik Puschmann, Partner of Farrer & Co in London, England, United Kingdom, where he, co-head of the arbitration practice. He, also Fellow Commoner of Clare Hall, Cambridge and Visiting Senior Lecturer in international law and commerce at Johannes Kepler Universität Linz (Austria).
Djakhongir Saidov (tbc), Professor of Commercial Law, King’s College London Daniele D’Alvia, qualified lawyer (Italy), PhD candidate and Module Convener for Comparative Law at Birkbeck, University of London
Despina Anagnostopoulou, Associate Professor and Academic Coordinator of the Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence “Research on Crucial Issues of European Integration”, University of Macedonia, Thessaloniki, Greece
Reza Beheshti, Assistant Professor in International Commercial Law, School of Law, University of Nottingham
Daniele D’Alvia, Birkbeck, University of London and MPI Hamburg
Miriam Goldby, Reader in Shipping, Insurance and Commercial Law, Centre for Commercial Law Studies (CCLS) at Queen Mary University of London (QMUL)
Chien-Chung Lin, Associate Professor of Law, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
Sara Hourani, Lecturer in Law, Law School, Middlesex University, London
Maren Heidemann, qualified lawyer (Germany) and Associate Fellow, Institute of Advanced Legal Studies at School of Advanced Studies, University of London
Joseph Lee, Senior Lecturer, Law School, University of Exeter, Exeter,
Livashnee Naidoo, Doctoral Candidate and Commonwealth Scholar, University of Southampton and Lecturer in Commercial and Insurance Law, University of Cape Town, South Africa
Janwillem Oosterhuis, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Maastricht, Maastricht, The Netherlands
Catherine Pédamon, Senior Lecturer and Deputy Head for the LLM in International Commercial Law at Westminster Law School, Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities, University of Westminster, London, England, United Kingdom
Arie Rosen, Senior Lecturer in Law, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Radosveta Vassileva, Teaching Fellow, University College London (UCL)

A copy of the draft programme for "The Future of the Commercial Contract in Scholarship and Law Reform" is available here

Contact the convenors:
    Dr. Maren Heidemann, IALS – mheidera[at]
    Ms Catherine Pédamon, University of Westminster – c.pedamon[@]
    Dr. Joseph Lee, University of Exeter - J.Lee[@]

For further information and background on The Future of the Commercial Contract in Scholarship and Law Reform Project

For general enquiries contact Belinda Crothers,  

Conference registration fees:

Standard Rate - £75.00
Concessionary Day Rate for Speakers and Students - £50.00
Concessionary Half Day Rate for Speakers and Students - £35.00


IALS Events Office
020 7862 5800