The Inns of Court Fellowship Scheme is open to senior judges from the following jurisdictions:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Caribbean
  • Ghana
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Malaysia
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • United States (federal)

Nominations for the Fellowships are sought annually from the Chief Justices of each jurisdiction. The Institute cannot accept any applications directly.

Inns of Court Selection Committee 2021

  • Professor Carl Stychin (Director, Institute of Advanced Legal Studies)
  • Sir Mark Havelock-Allan (Inner Temple)
  • Sir David Foskett (Gray’s Inn)
  • Mr John Randall QC (Lincoln’s Inn)
  • Mr Giles Goodfellow QC (Middle Temple)

For further information contact Eliza Boudier

2022-2023 Inns of Court Fellow

Justice Dennis Dominic Adjei, Justice of the Court of Appeal, Ghana

Subject of Research: The right to information and protection for those who seek for the information to deepen democracy and furthermore to hold public office holders accountable.

Inns of Court Fellow Lecture 2023

Click title below to access lecture:

'The Right to Information to Promote Transparency and Accountability, and the Right of Protection Provided by International and National Laws Within the Ghanaian Context'

Lecture by Justice Dennis Dominic Adjei, Institute of Advanced Legal Studies Inns of Court Judicial Fellow for 2022-2023 Academic Year on Monday 13th February, 2023 at the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, School of Advanced Study, University of London

Past Inns Of Court Fellows

2003/2004 Onwards

The Hon. Justice Forrie Miller, New Zealand Court of Appeal


The Hon. Justice Anthony Besanko (Federal Court of Australia)



The Hon. Justice Mary Newbury (Supreme Court of British Columbia)



The Honourable David Masuhara, Supreme Court of British Columbia, Canada



Rt. Hon Justice Mark Weinberg, Court of Appeal, Supreme Court of Victoria, Australia



The Mr Justice Azahar bin Mohamed, Federal Court, Malaysia



The Hon Justice James Williams, Supreme Court of Nova Scotia, Family Division



The Hon Mme Justice Désirée Bernard, Caribbean Court of Justice



The Rt. Hon Justice Mark O’Regan, President of the Court of Appeal of New Zealand



The Hon. Justice James Allsop, President, New South Wales Court of Appeal, Australia



The Hon. Justice Rolston F. Nelson,Caribbean Court of Justice



The Hon. Justice Susan Crennan, High Court of Australia



The Hon. Justice William Young, President of the Court of Appeal of New Zealand



Justice Pierre Blais, Chief Justice, Federal Court of Appeal, Canada



Justice Keith Mason, President, New South Wales Court of Appeal, Australia



Justice Robert French, Federal Court of Australia



Judge Carole Lewis, Supreme Court of Appeal, South Africa



Judge David Baragwanath, High Court of Auckland, New Zealand